Member Login

What are the Awards

Australasian Branch Awards

The Australasian Branch of IAATI, in partnership with our Award Sponsors have an annual Awards Programme and an Annual Travel Scholarship. The Australasian Branch awards seek to recognise and reward outstanding achievement, innovation, or exceptional performance in the area of auto theft prevention and investigation.  For details about how to nominate for the current round of awards and travel scholarship please visit    

The 2017 awards were presented in April 2017.  The next round of nominations are now open and close 19 January 2018. The winners will be announced on Tuesday 20 March 2018, during the Awards Dinner at the Pullman Brisabne King George Square Hotel, Brisbane.


In 2018 there will be five award categories:

Investigation of the Year

The Investigation of the Year award is open to any individual or team who have conducted an outstanding investigation involving the detection and prevention of auto crime. It is open to members of police forces, customs services, insurance investigators, private investigators, or anyone else involved in vehicle theft investigations.

Submissions will be judged on their demonstration of any or all of the following criteria: innovative methodologies, application of best practice investigation techniques, the complexity of the investigation, and co-operation and involvement of multiple agencies to achieve a result in the fight against auto crime.

The investigation may involve cooperation of international agencies but at least part of the investigation must have taken place in either Australia, New Zealand or South East Asia during the last 3 years.


Insurance Industry Investigation of the Year

The Insurance Industry Investigation of the Year Award is open to any individual or team working in the insurance industry who have conducted an outstanding investigation of a suspicious motor vehicle claim, or a network of suspicious motor vehicle claims or any auto crime claims (staged accident etc.).  The award is open to both investigators who have conducted an outstanding investigation into motor vehicle theft claims, auto crime claims, and claims staff working in the investigations unit of an insurance company who manage the investigation process.

The investigation may be deemed outstanding for a range of reasons including its use of innovative methodologies and investigations techniques; the complexity of the investigation and the outcome of the investigation.  The submission could be in relation to one specific claim, a network of theft claims or auto crime claims that were identified and investigated. The investigation and/or insurance claim must have been performed in either Australia, New Zealand or South East Asia in the past three years.

This award is sponsored by Polonious


President's Award

The President’s Award recognises outstanding contribution by an individual or a team in either the reduction and deterrence of motor vehicle theft in Australia, the achievement of a significant result from an investigation in auto  crimes, or a significant achievement in the detection of motor vehicle theft and/or fraudulent vehicle crime.

Submissions could be for any project, initiative or investigation that deals with the reduction, prevention or investigation of motor crime, either at an international, national or local  level.  This award is sponsored by NKG Management Services


Forensic and Supporting Services Award 

This award acknowledges that IAATI is made up of a diverse range of professionals and most successful investigations involve bringing together co-operation with of these professions and their expertise.  The awrds will help shine the spotlight on the range of supporting services that can play a major role in any investigation but often go unrecognised. The award will be open to any individual, public or private organisation involved in the provision of forensic or other types of supporting services.  It recognises their outstanding work that has resulted in either:

· the detection of an offence;

· significantly assisted in the investigation or prosecution; or

· the prevention of vehicle related crime.

The award may be given for a particular case or for the sustained contribution to the particular area of study over many years.

This award is sponsored by CSI Investigations Pty Ltd.


Member of the Year

Nominations for this award are only open to present or past members of the Australasian Branch of IAATI. This award is to recognise the work of an individual member, who through their dedication and involvement, has helped in the development, growth or professionalism of IAATI within the Australasian Branch or at the international level.


Nominations for the 2018 Australasian Branch Awards close 19 January 2018.  Winner are announced during the Annual Training Seminar Dinner.

More information is available about the 2018 Australasian Branch Awards program view the awards bochure.  Click here for the 2018 Awards Brochure


2018 Travel Scholarship

In addition to the five Branch awards we also are offering a Travel Scholoarship to attend the 2018 UK Branch Annual Conference, 6-7 June 2018.  Sponsored by F.I.R.E.S., the winner will receive reimbursements up to $AUD 3,000 to cover the travel costs.

Nominations for the 2018 Travel Scholarship close 16 February 2018.  To nominate for the 2018 Travel Scholarship please download the brochure here.

This Travel Scholarship is sponsored by F.I.R.E.S.


International Awards Program

In addition to the Australasian Branch Awards the IAATI International Board also run an Awards Programme that is open to any members around the world.  Nominations for the International Awards Programme close 1st May each year with the winners announced during the Annual International Training Seminar.

For more information regarding the International Awards Programme please visit the IAATI International website